Glamorgan West Area. Offering everyday adventure accross Swansea and Neath Port Talbot Home


There are five Sections for young people who are members of the Scouts.

Beavers Cubs Scouts Explorers Network

6 to 8 years old

Beaver Scouts have lots of fun doing different activities which include making things, going on visits, making friends, doing badges and going away for a night on a sleepover.

8 to 10½ years old

Cub Scouts will get a chance to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, community and collecting. Cub Scouts also get to go on trips to places like the zoo, theme parks or a farm. Sometimes they will be able to go camping with the rest of the Pack.

10½ to 14 years old

As a Scout you can take part in a wide range of activities. Anything from abseiling to zorbing, and there are a number awards and badges to earn along the way.

Scouts is all about finding out about the world we live in, knowing your own abilities and developing creative talents.

14 to 18 years old

As an Explorer Scout, you will be able to help decide what you do - whether it is power boating, socialising, hiking or enjoying a trip abroad.

You will so be able to gain awards such as the Queens Scout Award, the highest award in Scouting, which is recognised by many employers as the sign of enthusiasm, dedication and reliability.

18 to 25 years old

Scout Network is the place to be if you want to continue your time in Scouting and don't want to start a leadership role.

Beavers, Cubs and Scouts exist within a Scout Group. Explorer Scouts and Scout Network are organised outside of Scout Groups, on a district or area level However, you may find a Explorer Scout Unit or Scout Network with strong links to a Scout Group, an Activity Centre or an activity.

The core age ranges of these Sections is shown above, however in most instances there is a six month flexibility in each direction. This allows for a young person to move between Sections at the same time as their friends, for example a Cub Scout could move to Scouts at age 10, or an Beaver Scout could stay with their Colony until they're 8.